The Wolfpacker

July 2012

The Wolfpacker: An Independent Magazine Covering NC State Sports

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 11 of 155

PACK I Ten Wolfpack Greats Are Selected For NC State's New Athletics Hall Of Fame nnovators, superstars and game-changers were among the 10 inaugural members selected for the NC State Athletics Hall of Fame, announced on June 26 by athletics director Debbie Yow. The class will be inducted into the hall on Friday, Oct. 5, in Reyn- olds Coliseum at a gala celebration that will be open to the public. David Thompson, considered the greatest men's basketball player in ACC history, headlines the list of seven Wolfpack student- athletes. Also chosen were women's all-time leading scorer and re- bounder Genia Beasley and three football players — running back Ted Brown, quarterback Roman Gabriel and center Jim Ritcher. Distance runner Julie Shea, who won a remarkable seven individ- ual national titles and guided the Wolfpack to back-to-back national cross country crowns in 1979 and '80, was picked for the first class, as was three-time All-American men's soccer player Tab Ramos. Everett Case, who brought big-time basketball to the South from his native Indiana, is included in the class, along with women's TRACKING THE coach Kay Yow, a pioneer in women's athletics, and Jim Valvano, who spent 11 years as men's basketball coach and three years as athletics director. Debbie Yow established the hall earlier in the spring to honor more than 12 decades of athletics success at NC State and ap- pointed a 14-member Hall of Fame election committee to pick the most deserving candidates. The committee, with four permanent members and 10 at-large members, met on June 21 to select the inaugural class of the most accomplished contributors in the tradi- tions and success of Wolfpack athletics. Chaired by executive senior associate athletics director Chris Kingston, the group included former athletes Chris Corchiani (men's basketball), Laurie Henes (women's track and field/cross country), David Horning (co-chair, football), Bob Kennel (foot- ball, baseball and basketball) and Teri Whyte-Scott (women's basketball). The four permanent members of the committee are Kingston, as Yow's designee, associate athletics director for communications Annabelle Myers, faculty athletics representative Sam Pardue, and Wolfpack Club president and Board of Trustees member Randy Ramsey. Other at-large members of the committee included newly elected chair of the UNC Board of Governors Frank Grainger, local busi- nessman David Parker, NC State executive officer Kevin Howell, athletics benefactor Wendell Murphy and media relations assistant Tim Peeler. Senior associate athletics director Michael Lipitz is an ex-officio (non-voting) member of the committee. A list of by-laws were established, allowing a total of 10 indi- viduals and teams in the first three classes of the hall, with no more than six allowed in the years after that. In those first three years, no more than three non-athletes (coaches, administrators and special contributors) can be elected. Tickets for the black-tie optional event are $75 and can be pur- chased on championship in 1983. PHOTO COURTESY NC STATE MEDIA RELATIONS 10 ■ THE WOLFPACKER In 11 seasons as NC State's head coach, jim Valvano guided the Wolfpack to seven NCAA tourneys, four Sweet Sixteens and the national In his three-year career at NC State, David Thompson scored 2,309 points, and he led the Pack to two ACC championships and the na- tional title in 1974. PHOTO COURTESY NC STATE MEDIA RELATIONS Sweet Sixteens and one Final Four appearance. PHOTO BY KEN MARTIN In 34 years guiding the Wolfpack women's basketball team, head coach Kay Yow won 680 games and compiled 21 20-win seasons, 11

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of The Wolfpacker - July 2012