Cavalier Corner

February 2014

Cavalier Corner is the publication just for UVa sports fans!

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 2 of 48

snapshot CRYSTAL COLLECTOR Third-year midfielder Morgan Brian, seen here with UVa head coach Steve Swanson, was named the winner of the 2013 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy — the most prestigious individual honor in collegiate soccer. Both Soccer America and also selected her as the National Player of the Year, making her the first player in program history to be tabbed as the country's best player. Brian — who tied for the ACC scoring lead this season with 46 points on 16 goals and a league-high 14 assists — is the fifth overall UVa player to receive the crystal ball as the nation's top player, joining four Cavalier men to be named Hermann Trophy winners: Tony Meola (1989), Claudio Reyna (1993), Mike Fisher (1995 and 1996) and Alecko Eskandarian (2002). Virginia is just the third school to produce both a men's and women's Hermann Trophy winner, joining Notre Dame and Penn State. PHOTO COURTESY UVA i3.Snapshot.indd 14 1/16/14 10:58 AM

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Cavalier Corner - February 2014