The Wolfpacker

March 2012

The Wolfpacker: An Independent Magazine Covering NC State Sports

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 53 of 95

Athletics director Debbie Yow presented a trophy to Chris Corchiani (center) and Rodney Monroe (right) to honor the "Never Give Up" spirit of the 1989 Wolfpack men's basketball squad, which was coached by the late Jim Valvano. Wolfpack Unlimited Award will recognize individuals and teams that refuse to accept the status quo and exhibit the "Never Give Up" spirit of the Wolfpack. Jim Valvano's 1989 squad won the ACC regular-season title, posting a 22-9 overall mark and a 10-4 record in league play, and reached the Sweet 16 in the NCAA Tournament. The squad featured the Pack's all-time scoring leader, Rodney Monroe, and all-time assist N leader, Chris Corchiani. Monroe and teammate Chucky Brown earned first-team All-ACC honors that season, while Monroe was also named to the NCAA Tournament All-East Region squad. Brown, Tom Gugliotta and Brian Howard went on to play multiple years in the NBA. Other players on the roster included Brian D'Amico, Mickey Hinnant, Jamie Knox, David Lee, Avie Lester, Kenny Poston, Kelsey Weems and Roland Whitley. "We are proud to honor the terrific team of 1989," Yow said. "That group proudly represents the pride and never give up spirit of the Wolfpack. They achieved success because they refused to accept the status quo. It is fitting that a team coached by Jim Valvano, the epitome of never giving up, will be the first to receive this award." In 1988-89, the Wolfpack went 22-9 and won the ACC reg- ular-season crown. Members of that team were honored on Feb. 21 at the RBC Center. PHOTO BY KEN MARTIN 54 ■ THE WOLFPACKER 1989 Men's Basketball Team Receives Wolfpack Unlimited Award Honor Roll C State recognized the 1989 men's basketball team prior to the game versus North Carolina Feb. 21 at the RBC Center. NC State athletics director Debbie Yow selected the 1989 Wolfpack men's bas- ketball squad as the inaugural recipient of the Wolfpack Unlimited Award. The Left to right: Jamie Knox, Tom Gugliotta and Roland Whitley were on hand as part of the ceremony presenting the first-ever Wolfpack Unlimited Award. PHOTO BY KEN MARTIN PHOTO BY KEN MARTIN

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of The Wolfpacker - March 2012