The Wolfpacker

July 2016

The Wolfpacker: An Independent Magazine Covering NC State Sports

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 55 of 163

54 ■ THE WOLFPACKER FOOTBALL PREVIEW 2016 BY JACEY ZEMBAL T he Wolfpack's offensive coordinator may be new, but the emphasis on the tight end position will not change. NC State returns the premier ACC pass- catching tight end in junior Jaylen Samuels. The Wolfpack also have an impressive block- ing tight end Cole Cook, who could have an increased role in the passing game under new coordinator Eli Drinkwitz, who spent the past two years at Boise State. Drinkwitz utilized a pair of tight ends during his one season as offensive coordinator with the Broncos in 2015. Jake Roh caught 33 passes for 357 yards and a touchdown, while Holden Huff snagged 18 receptions for 243 yards and three scores. Last year, Samuels led the nation in tight end receptions with 65 for 597 yards and seven touchdowns. He also was a threat running jet sweeps and was forced to play some running back due to attrition. He rushed 56 times for 368 yards and nine scores. "Jaylen is just special," said Eddie Faulkner, who is NC State's tight ends/fullbacks coach and special teams coordinator. "Part of the rea- son he probably wasn't highly recruited coming out of high school is because people don't know who he is. What does he do? "I'm just glad he is on our team. Because of all the multiple things that he does, he does challenge you as a coach to make sure he can touch it, and that is a good thing." Faulkner said the next step for the 5-11, 223-pound Samuels to become even more of an TIGHT ENDS ■ FULLBACKS THE RIGHT FORMULA Jaylen Samuels And Cole Cook Are Back And Give NC State Great Flexibility No tight end in the nation last year caught more passes then Samuels, who had 65 grabs for 597 yards and seven scores. PHOTO BY KEN MARTIN Year-By-Year Leading Receiver at Tight End Year Name Catches Yards 2015 Jaylen Samuels 65 597 2014 David J. Grinnage 27 358 2013 David J. Grinnage 15 150 2012 Mario Carter 34 367 2011 George Bryan 33 331 2010 George Bryan 35 369 2009 George Bryan 40 422 2008 Anthony Hill 19 234 2007 Marcus Stone 36 452 2006 Anthony Hill 45 478

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of The Wolfpacker - July 2016